Multimedia Telecommunications selects chief executive

Multimedia Telecommunications selects chief executive

William R. Moroney has been named president and chief executive at the Multimedia Telecommunications Association, Washington, DC. He formerly held the same positions at the Electronic Messaging Association, the Electronic Funds Transfer Association and the National Automated Clearing House Association. The multimedia group focuses on local area and wide area internetworking, voice/multimedia, collaboration and conferencing, computer/ telephone integration and wireless communications markets.

Chris A. Miller has been named vice president-finance, treasurer and secretary of C-Cor Electronics Inc., State College, PA. He is responsible for all financial operations of the business. Before joining C-Cor, Miller was divisional controller for Vermont Tap and Die Co., a division of Vermont American Corp. He was also associated with EHV Weidmann Industries Inc. Joseph E. Zavacky has been appointed controller and assistant secretary at C-Cor. He has been with the company since 1985.

Dave Coreson has been appointed vice president, manufacturing operations, at Tektronix Inc.`s measurement business division in Beaverton, OR. He is responsible for television test and manufacturing operations, as well as corporate materials. Richie Faubert has been named general manager of the newly combined television/communications test business unit, and Rick Wills is general manager of the instruments business unit. Al Miksch is general manager of the tools business unit and was formerly associated with Hewlett-Packard Co. Kermit Yensen has been appointed director of marketing; previous employers include Pi Systems and Hewlett-Packard Co.

Sam Pitroda has been elected chairman of Worldtel, Geneva, Switzerland, by its Interim Board of Directors. He has more than 27 years` experience in telecommunications. Pitroda co-founded Wescom Switching, founded the Center for Development of Telematics in India and was appointed first chairman of the Telecom Commission in India. He holds more than 50 worldwide patents in digital communications. Worldtel was formed by the International Telecommunication Union, the United Nations` agency for telecommunications.

Mike Gardner has been appointed president at Whittaker Corp.`s Los Angeles-based communications division, which manufactures networking products based on asynchronous transfer mode technology. He has more than 25 years` experience in the networking industry and was most recently senior vice president and general manager at UB Networks (formerly Ungermann-Bass). Previous employers include IBM and Hewlett-Packard Co.

William G. Costa has been named vice president at Telstra Corp.`s U.S. corporate sales and marketing division in San Francisco. Telstra is Australia`s leading full-service domestic and international telecommunications service provider and a major carrier in the Asia-Pacific region. Costa`s 25 years` experience in the telecommunications industry includes positions at TRT (IDB) (now Worldcom Communications Inc.) and Western Union International Inc. (MCI).

Jay Sabido has been appointed technical support and product development engineer at Wave Optics Inc. in Palo Alto, CA. He is responsible for supporting polarization-maintaining connectors and silicon V-grooves, as well as developing new products and technology for the fiber-optic connector market.


In the July 1995 issue of Lightwave, page 78, Lalit Goel was incorrectly identified as product line manager for pump lasers at AT&T Microelectronics. In fact, Mr. Goel has been named product line manager for pump lasers at Lasertron, Burlington, MA.

More in Earnings Statements